Raas

The holiday area Natz-Schabs

With its five villages Natz, Schabs, Raas, Aicha and Viums, the community lies on a high plateau above the Eisacktal basin and the city of Bressanone. In Natz-Schabs, fruit growing is an important economic activity, as you can easily recognize during your holiday at the many apple orchards with different varieties. Wine also thrives on the high plateau. During Törggelen in autumn, you can taste the new, sweet wine – called Suser – with fresh chestnuts.

The Tirolerhof is located in the small village Raas. Here are many destinations open to you, because in 10 minutes you are already in the cathedral city of Bressanone, in half an hour you reach Vipiteno or Bolzano.

Brixen Cathedral

In the middle of the picturesque episcopal city of Brixen lies the historically valuable cathedral built in 980 AD. Over the years, the building was redesigned several times, today’s Baroque building dates back to the 18th century. At that time, the cathedral was decorated with frescoes and paintings by Paul Troger from Welsberg, a classicistic vestibule by Jakob Pircherstaller, a new high altar by Theodor Benedetti and a late gothic Madonna. Next to the cathedral you will also find the remarkable Romanesque-Gothic cloister with the beautiful, square courtyard and the elaborate frescoes.

 

Dom
Neustift
Monastery Neustift

The Augustinian cloister Neustift in Vahrn with the late Baroque collegiate church describes itself as an active and living monastery. Bishop Hartmann von Brixen founded it in 1142 and over the years the monastery was endowed with a number of treasures of great value in the history of art. In addition to the collegiate church, this includes the valuable library, the Gothic cloister, the Pinakothek, the grave of the minnesinger Oswald von Wolkenstein and the miracle fountain in the courtyard, which, in addition to the seven wonders of the world, represents the monastery as the eighth. The monastery Neustift is also one of the most important wineries in South Tyrol, with top wines such as the Müller-Thurgau, Sylvaner and Kerner.

Säben Monastery

High above Klausen, the majestic Säben Monastery towers over a mighty rock called the Holy Mountain. Already settled in the Neolithic period, the monastery is one of the oldest places of pilgrimage in Tyrol and from here the Christian faith is said to have spread throughout South Tyrol. Since the 17th century, the monastery has been inhabited by Benedictine nuns and at times was also a bishop’s seat. The monastery can be reached directly from the center of Klausner via a crossroads and a promenade. Four churches belong to the monastery building and are a popular destination for pilgrims: the Liebfrauenkirche, the Marienkappelle, the Abbey Church and the Holy Cross Church. The monastery itself is not accessible because of the strict cloister of the Benedictines.

 

Säben
Festung
Fortress Franzensfeste

From 1832 to 1838, the strongest fortification in Europe at that time, the Fortress Franzensfeste, was built by some up to 4,500 men. Named after Emperor Franz I, the castle consists of a labyrinth of corridors and staircases and was definitely a logistical masterpiece for those days. The technically soon outdated fortress was never a theater of war, but was mainly used as a weapons warehouse. Today, the fortress often hosts events and exhibitions and can also be visited with a guided tour.

Raas

Das Feriengebiet Natz-Schabs

Mit seinen fünf Ortschaften Natz, Schabs, Raas, Aicha und Viums liegt die Gemeinde auf einem Hochplateau über dem Eisacktaler Talkessel und der Stadt Brixen. In Natz-Schabs ist der Obstbau ein wichtiger Wirtschaftszweig, wie Sie in Ihrem Urlaub an den vielen Apfelanlagen mit unterschiedlichen Sorten unschwer erkennen können. Auch Wein gedeiht auf dem Hochplateau. Beim Törggelen im Herbst können Sie den neuen, süßlichen Wein – Suser genannt – mit frischen Kastanien verkosten.

Der Tirolerhof befindet sich in dem kleinen Dorf Raas. Hier stehen Ihnen viele Ausflugsziele offen, denn in 10 Autominuten befinden Sie sich schon in der Domstadt Brixen, in einer halben Stunde erreichen Sie Sterzing oder Bozen.

Brixner Dom

Mitten in der malerischen Bischofsstadt Brixen liegt der im Jahre 980 nach Christus erbaute und historisch wertvolle Dom. Über die Jahre hinweg wurde das Gebäude mehrmals umgestaltet, der heutige Barockbau geht auf das 18. Jahrhundert zurück. Damals wurde der Dom mit Fresken und Gemälden von Paul Troger aus Welsberg, einer klassizistischen Vorhalle von Jakob Pircherstaller, einem neuen Hochaltar von Theodor Benedetti und einer spätgotischen Madonna ausgestattet. Neben dem Dom befindet sich außerdem der sehenswerte romanisch-gotische Kreuzgang mit dem schönen, quadratischen Innenhof und den kunstvollen Fresken.

 

Dom
Neustift
Kloster Neustift

Das Augustinerkloster Chorherrenstift Neustift in Vahrn mit der spätbarocken Stiftskirche bezeichnet sich selbst als aktives und lebendiges Kloster. Bischof Hartmann von Brixen gründete es im Jahre 1142 und über die Jahre hinweg wurde das Kloster mit einer Reihe von kunsthistorisch wertvollen Schätzen ausgestattet. Dazu gehört neben der Stiftskirche die wertvolle Bibliothek, der gotische Kreuzgang, die Pinakothek, das Grab des Minnesängers Oswald von Wolkenstein und der Wunderbrunnen im Innenhof, der neben den sieben Weltwundern das Kloster als achtes darstellt. Das Kloster Neustift zählt außerdem zu den bedeutendsten Weingütern in Südtirol, mit Spitzenweinen wie den Müller-Thurgau, Sylvaner und Kerner.

Kloster Säben

Hoch über Klausen thront das majestätische Kloster Säben auf einem mächtigen Felsen, dem sogenannten Heiligen Berg. Schon in der Jungsteinzeit besiedelt, zählt das Kloster zu den ältesten Wallfahrtsorten in Tirol und von hier aus soll sich der christliche Glaube in ganz Südtirol verbreitet haben. Seit dem 17 Jh. wird das Kloster von Benediktinerinnen bewohnt und war zeitweise auch Bischofssitz. Das Kloster ist direkt vom Klausner Stadtzentrum aus über einem Kreuzweg und einer Promenade zu erreichen. Vier Kirchen gehören zum Klostergebäude und sind ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel für Pilger: die Liebfrauenkirche, die Marienkappelle, die Klosterkirche und die Heilig Kreuz Kirche. Das Kloster selbst ist wegen der strengen Klausur der Benediktinerinnen nicht zugänglich.

 

Säben
Festung
Festung Franzensfeste

Von 1832 bis 1838 wurde die damals stärkste Befestigungsanlage Europas, die Festung Franzensfeste, von teilweise bis zu 4.500 Mann erbaut. Nach Kaiser Franz I benannt, besteht die Burg aus einem Labyrinth von Gängen und Treppen und war für die damalige Zeit definitiv ein logistisches Meisterwerk. Die technisch bald überholte Festung war nie Kriegsschauplatz, sondern wurde vor allem als Waffenlager benutzt. Heute beherbergt die Festung des Öfteren Veranstaltungen sowie Ausstellungen und kann auch mit einer Führung besichtigt werden.